Home

in the pouring rain

September 30, 2012

sunday breakfast
breakfast: coffee, persimmon (different kind and nicely ripe), banana, & kiwi fruit

*
*
*
*
A huge typhoon was approaching. We cancelled our morning plan but went ahead and visited this gallery for the glassware artist Peter Ivy’s exhibition as today was the last day. This was my second visit there this year and my first Peter Ivy exhibition.
*
*
*
*
*
Some pieces had been already sold out such as small coffee jars with wire that I’d hoped to purchase.
*
These delicate things are by the textile-dyeing artist Mouryo Masako.
*

*
*
*
*
*

*
the cafe space right next to the gallery
*
*
*
I bought a few things at the gallery.

*
*
lunch: cafe lunch (¥900). bland like a hospital meal. nice bread, though.
i almost bought this bowl. maybe next time.

Then we hurried home in the pouring rain.

*
snack: red wine with cheddar

sunday dinner
dinner: minestrone (cabbage, carrot, onion, tomato can, soy beans, sausages, shimeji)

Despite the horrible weather I’d say we had a pretty good day. I only wish I had one more day off…or two.

6 Responses to “in the pouring rain”

  1. Zoe Says:

    Do you keep your red wine in the fridge?

  2. Jordan Says:

    omg I barely slept last night it was so noisy. And my cover had been torn right off my bike like an animal attacked it…

    Where is the gallery you went to? It’s beautiful.

  3. anastasia Says:

    The way these pieces are displayed are lovely; simply, and surrounded by natural colors and textures. It’s nice to see the subtle differences in color of the glass. Oftentimes, here, glass pieces are placed in lighted cabinets, surrounded by colorful things. It becomes harder to distinguish the individual piece from the chaos; or they become washed out.

    • aixxx Says:

      I thought it was a bit too unattended. But the point is that you can actually touch and hold them in your hands and purchase them on the spot. They are for daily use after all, and while they are precious for sure, neither the artist nor the gallery owner is pretentious. I love that about this place. I wish I could have shown the closeups so that you could see the different colors better, but they ask you not to take closeup shots.

  4. anastasia Says:

    That’s fantastic; being able to go home with the one you want. The wired glass storage containers would definitely be something I would want to take home. I find myself lusting after the wooden trays I see in a lot of Japanese blogs…


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

